Alice Henriquez Memorial Fund Writing Prize

Alice B. Henriquez Memorial Fund Writing Prize

Scholarship Guidelines


Seniors at Webutuck Senior High School (Amenia, N.Y.)


Alice and Richard Henriquez were longtime residents of Millerton, N.Y., and, while living, maintained close relationships with that community's youth. The award was established by the late Richard Henriquez in memory of his wife, Alice, to encourage young people to use their writing and analytical skills to address contemporary issues.


For the 2021 essay, Webutuck seniors are invited to address the following:

"It isn't enough to talk about peace. One must believe in it. And it isn't enough to believe in it. One must work at it."  
Eleanor Roosevelt

"Peace is not the absence of conflict, it is the ability to handle conflict by peaceful means."
Ronald Reagan

Many observers of the current political situation believe that the United States is fracturing into two (or more) irreconcilable camps, ideologically divided and each unwilling to believe anything good about the other. Given the statements above, one by a Democrat and the other by a Republican, what steps do you feel are necessary to bridge the apparent divisions among Americans? What can you personally do about it?

The maximum length for the essay is 500 words. While each essay must be the original work of its author, applicants are permitted to have their essays reviewed by a faculty member before submitting their applications.


Seniors at Webutuck Senior High School (Amenia, N.Y.) who are entering their first year of a two-year or four-year nationally accredited college, university or trade-school.


The award is $1,000. Payments will be made directly to the college or university of the recipient.


Applications will be reviewed using the following criteria:

  • Quality of the writing. 
  • Clarity of thinking and addressing the theme.
  • Creativity of overall submission.

Applications will be reviewed by members of the Webutuck Quest for Excellence Fund (QUEST) Committee. Their recommendations will be reviewed by Berkshire Taconic’s board of directors. The prize will be awarded during the Awards Ceremony at the end of the year.




May 1